Super Soft Peanut Butter Cookies

Super Soft Peanut Butter Cookies

January 29, 2014

On my 19th birthday, my mother gave me a Betty Crocker cookbook. This cookbook has become my go-to for all of my cooking questions and recipe adventures. It is falling apart now from all the use it has gotten, but I still use it to get ideas for new meals from time to time.

Out of all the recipes I have made from this cookbook, peanut butter cookies is the one I have made the most! I have tweaked it and turned it into the most popular among my family and a particular favorite of mine. I have spent time working with this recipe so that the cookies come out just right. I also have an eggless version of this recipe that I will share in a later post that is also very tasty!

These cookies are always gone within a day or so! The recipe makes 2 to 3 dozen cookies, depending on how big you make them, and I usually make two batches at once so there is enough to go around! I love peanut butter, and these cookies satisfy that craving in a big way!  I hope you enjoy them as much as my family and I do!

Super Soft Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

½ cup granulated sugar

½ cup packed light brown sugar

½ cup creamy peanut butter (I use a generous amount, a little bit over ½ cup.)

¼ cup stick butter, room temperature

¼ cup shortening (I use Crisco shortening sticks.)

1 egg

1 to 1 ¼  to cup all-purpose flour

¾ tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

Extra granulated sugar

 IMG_9058-1

1. In a mixing bowl, combine the ½ cup sugar, brown sugar, peanut butter, butter, shortening and egg until creamy.

IMG_9059

2. Add in the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

IMG_9064

3. Cover and chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours or until firm enough to handle.

IMG_9072

4. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

5. Shape dough balls about 1 inch each and place them a couple of inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

IMG_9084

6. Use a fork dipped in sugar to make criss-cross patterns on each ball.

IMG_9085

IMG_9088

IMG_9091

7. Bake for 8 to 9 minutes or until light brown. Let sit on cookie sheet for 1 minute. Then move them to wire rack or wax paper to cool.

IMG_9097

I have found that with this recipe timing is very important. If they overcook, they become more crunchy… which is fine if that is what you like! The tops of the cookies may look very light in color. If the bottom had nice golden brown color, they should be perfect! My daughter and I like to “test” the cookies when they come out of the oven. Because let’s face it… warm cookies are the best cookies!

Please enjoy the recipe! I hope your cookies turn out perfect! Do have any questions? Or suggestions? Please let me know! Please follow us for more recipes and upcoming blogs!

Leave a comment