Chicken Broccoli Cheddar Hand Pies

Chicken Broccoli Cheddar Hand Pies

January 28, 2014

Since about October of last year, I have been on a baking spree! I just feel like making all of these tasty dishes I keep seeing all over the web and in my cookbooks. I’ve tried out quite a few. Some have been a flop, but others have actually worked out pretty well! I’m not a professional chef by any means, but I like to try new things in my own kitchen… especially if they are toddler friendly! In some of my next posts, I plan to show you how I have incorporated some healthy foods into dishes that my daughter will eat. She is not fond of vegetables so I’ve become a little sneaky. For now though, I want to give you my recipe for chicken broccoli cheddar hand pies. Yummy!

I came across the idea of hand pies on Pinterest a week or so ago and thought I could do my own spin on a savory dish with things I buy at the grocery every week. Here’s what I came up with:

Chicken Broccoli Cheddar Hand Pies

Ingredients:

1 to 1 ½ cups cooked chicken, cut into small pieces

1 bag of frozen chopped broccoli, thawed out

1 tbsp butter

1 to 2 tbsp milk

2 oz cream cheese

1 box roll out pie crusts

1 tsp parsley flakes

1 tsp rosemary

½ tsp pepper

½  tsp garlic salt

1 cup sharp cheddar cheese

1 egg

IMG_9026

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Melt butter and cream cheese in a saucepan over medium heat.

IMG_9027

3. Add broccoli and milk. Cook until broccoli is heated through. Stir occasionally.

IMG_9028

4. Stir in chicken, parsley, rosemary, garlic salt and pepper. Cook for 1 to 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.

IMG_9030

5. Remove from heat and set aside.

IMG_9032

6. Roll out pie crusts with rolling pin to an eighth of an inch thick on a floured surface, adding a pinch of flour to the top of the crust for easier rolling.

7. Use a cookie cutter or glass to make pastries.

IMG_9033

IMG_9034

8. Add a spoonful of chicken broccoli mixture to half of the circles. Top with a pinch of cheddar cheese.

IMG_9035

9. Top with remaining circles and seal the edges with a fork.

IMG_9036

10. Place each hand pie on an ungreased baking sheet lined with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

IMG_9042

11. In a glass or bowl, create an egg wash by whisking egg with fork.

IMG_9043

12. Brush egg wash on each hand pie.

IMG_9046

13. Place baking sheets in the oven and cook for 10 to 14 minutes or until golden brown.

IMG_9054

There you go! Delicious and filling. When I made these, they were a little on the smaller side because of the size of the glass I used. Because of that, the amount of filling to pie crust was a little off, but with a larger glass or cookie cutter, you should be able to get plenty of filling on the pastry. My family loved these, and I will definitely make them again! Please ENJOY!

Do you have any suggestions for this recipe? What would you do to make it better or different? Please feel free to share. I look forward to some feedback!

Until next time…

Leave a comment